Ohio State Hires Chris Ash as Co-DC, Larry Johnson as DL Coach

Ohio State shored up its defense with a couple of important coaching hires on Tuesday, bringing in Chris Ash to be the new co-defensive coordinator and Larry Johnson to head the defensive line.
Per Dom Tiberi of WBNS in Columbus:

Ash returns to the Big Ten after spending one season as defensive coordinator of the Arkansas Razorbacks. He followed head coach Bret Bielema to Fayetteville in 2013 after heading his final two defenses at Wisconsin. Under Ash’s direction, the Badgers had America’s No. 15 total defense in both 2011 and 2012.

More importantly, Ash’s speciality lies in the defensive backfield, where Ohio State appears to need the most help. He was previously a secondary coach at San Diego State and Iowa State (as well as Wisconsin), which should make him a nice complement to co-defensive coordinator Luke Fickell, a former linebackers coach who has struggled to mold a secondary.

Former co-defensive coordinator Bill Withers accepted the head-coaching job at James Madison.

Johnson, meanwhile, takes over for departed defensive line coach Mike Vrabel, who left to join the Houston Texans’ staff under Bill O’Brien. Johnson comes over from Penn State, where he had coached since 1996, making him the last holdover from the Joe Paterno era.

According to Bob Flounders of PennLive.com, Johnson was offered a chance to retain his position by new head coach James Franklin but declined the offer. He’s moved to one of the Nittany Lions’ biggest rivals instead, where he’ll have…

Continue Reading: Ohio State Hires Chris Ash as Co-DC, Larry Johnson as DL Coach

1 comment on this postSubmit yours
  1. Good write-up and Bill Withers must have felt like he was being used up. LOL

Submit your comment

Please enter your name

Your name is required

Please enter a valid email address

An email address is required

Please enter your message

BucksInsider.com – Ohio State Buckeyes News, Videos, Schedules © 2015 All Rights Reserved

This site is not affiliated with The Ohio State University